How to disable Location History on Facebook to extend your device battery life

Facebook yesterday released a new update that helps to extend your iPhone's battery life by preventing it from playing audio silently in the background.

The biggest contributor to Facebook’s infamous battery drain has got to be the app’s continuous monitoring of your location, which continues after leaving the app. In this tutorial, we’ll teach you how to prevent this by disabling a feature called Location History, thereby helping reclaim some of the juice lost to the battery-hogging app.

Location History is a setting that allows Facebook to build a history of your precise location, as provided by your iPhone’s GPS and iOS’s location services. When this is on, Facebook tracks your precise location even if you leave the app.

How to disable Location History on Facebook
Step 1: Launch Facebook’s official iOS app on your iPhone.

Step 2: Tap More in the tab bar alongside the bottom.

Step 3: Now Tap the Nearby Friends section.

IMPORTANT: If you don’t see this option, their neither Nearby Friends nor Location History are live in your area yet.

Step 4: Tap the gear icon.

Step 5: Choose Location Settings.

Step 6: Tap to turn Location History on or off.

NEXT STEP: After disabling Location History inside the app, you also should change location access for Facebook’s app on your iPhone from ‘Always’ or ‘While Using the App’ to ‘Never’, as outlined further below.

How to change iPhone location access settings for Facebook
Step 1: Launch Settings on your iPhone.

Step 2: Tap on Privacy → Location Services → Facebook.
Step 3: Tap on ‘Never,’ or choose ‘While Using the App’.

Keep in mind that Facebook has been found to employ dirty tricks to keep its app awake and running in the background on your iPhone, even when you’re not using it.

F0r M0re UpDaTing: Be 0ne 0f My New F0ll0wers 0n Twitter, 0ne 0f My New Fan 0n FaceB00k, And Here Is The Feeds.

 


blog comments powered by Disqus
Octofinder Blog Catalog