iPhone Users Are Now Warned Of 15-Minute In-App Purchase Window In iOS 7.1

iOS 7.1 is here with some great features and bugs fixes and one of the features I like the most is CarPlay that Apple announced it from a few weeks for cars. Among the changes is a new window message appear for users regarding the 15-minute in-app purchase window. The window allows you to buy IAPs on an iOS device for 15 minutes after a password is entered without authorization.
This change comes as apart from Apple's efforts to make good on its settlement with the FTC regarding a lawsuit over IAPs. The company told the commission that it would issue refunds to those affected, and modify its in-app billing system to make the whole process more clear for users…

According to AppleInsider, the pop-up messages gives gives users a direct link to the Settings application where they can apply restrictions for in-app purchases. They can choose to leave the 15-minute buy window alone, require a password for every purchase, or turn off in-app purchasing altogether.

n 2013, Apple came under fire for the supposedly lax App Store policies. One high-profile case involved an 8-year-old British girl who managed to charge over $6,000 to her father's account with content bought through so-called "freemium" apps. Apple refunded the money.

Under the FTC settlement terms, Apple will refund some $32.5 million to parents whose children made unauthorized purchases. In addition, Apple agreed to change how the App Store operated to ensure purchases are being made from legitimate account holders. A report last week claimed the company was having technical difficulties in implementing the modifications, however, as the Mar. 31 settlement deadline approaches.

So what do you think ?

F0r M0re UpDaTing: Be 0ne 0f My New F0ll0wers 0n Twitter, 0ne 0f My New Fan 0n FaceB00k, And Here Is The Feeds.


blog comments powered by Disqus
Octofinder Blog Catalog